They call it Stormy Monday, but Tuesday’s just as bad…

Hi again! The title of this post might sound a little melodramatic, but I only used it because of the weather today. Tuesday’s not really so bad. But anyway, check it out: .

I wasn’t looking forward to the walk to class today, partly due to the weather. I woke up to rain, cold and gray. But things got better quickly. Even though it was only 9:45, I had a package in the mailbox. I carried it with me on the way to class, shielding it from the rain under my arm. Inside were two copies of the New Yorker and one issue of the New York Review of Books. My uncle Jimmy started these subscriptions for me over the summer because I always borrow (and usually forget to give back!) his copies. I haven’t changed the addresses over to my house at school, but my mom surprised me and forwarded them to me. So I have three treats to look forward to once I’m done with work today.

Breakfast this morning was good, but it didn’t hold me over for very long.

Yogurt mess!

This is my go-to breakfast when I’m out of cinnamon raisin bread. I layer Kashi Golean Crunch over Greek Yogurt (lately I like Trader Joe’s). Then I add whatever fruit I have on hand (typically bananas). Today I was lucky enough to have fresh (and organic!) strawberries, so I sprinkled those on top of the yogurt and Kashi and drizzled it all with honey.

Close up!

I love this breakfast, but like I said, it doesn’t last me very long. As usual, I had two cups of coffee and a glass of water on the side.

I only had one class this morning: Virginia Woolf. This is by far my favorite class. The professor is passionate and awesome, VW’s books are killer, and I always leave feeling inspired. Today I also felt hungry! I wanted yet another panini, but today I changed things up a bit:

Salad and Sammie

Full lunch: salad, sandwich, Texas Caviar

In the sandwich: goat cheese, roasted red peppers, and spinach. This hit the spot – so much so that this sandwich will now become part of the rotation (along with the classic grilled cheese!). The salad was pretty basic – mixed baby greens, tomatoes, feta, lemon juice, EVOO and balsamic vinegar. The Texas Caviar is a dish my mom taught me how to make. It’s great if you’re vegetarian, because the beans provide a lot of protein. This was the last serving of this batch. In this batch, I included: black beans, northern beans, three roma tomatoes, one red pepper, one jalapeno pepper, tomato-less salsa (from Trader Joe’s), normal salsa, and a little bit of sugar, salt, and cumin. The result is a spicy-sweet dip.

This meal didn’t hold me very long either. I have class at three, and I’m going to have to have a snack before (I’m thinking almonds and an apple).

Well, I’m off. Have a good afternoon!

– Mary

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to They call it Stormy Monday, but Tuesday’s just as bad…

  1. Brian Demery says:

    Well, your blogs are 2 for 2! Makes we want to consider greens at lunch in lieu of my usual turkey or ham sandwich.

  2. Magpie64 says:

    Your food looks so fresh and delicious. Wish I could join you for a panini and salad!

  3. Cait says:

    That makes two of us!

  4. UJ says:

    Excellent writing and the food looks fantastic. I’ve often wondered about the relationship of food vs intellect and you have created a vehicle for pursuing this pairing. What, for example, did Marx and Engel eat when they challenged the world’s basic order or Shakespeare when he wrote Hamlet ot Virginia Woolf as she finished Orlando. This going to be a great challenge for you and I hope your fans provide thoughtful input.

  5. UJ says:

    Excellent writing and fantastic food, a great jumping point, too, for examination of nutrition vs intellect. What, for example, did Virgina Woolf eat when she wrote Orlando.

Leave a Reply

