Gimme more

Good evening! Did you guys watch Glee? My roommate Jackie and I did, and we spent most of it laughing. It’s Britney, bitch…

Dinner tonight was a treat. I spent most of class thinking about it, actually. The other day, I impulse-bought an acorn squash at Meijer. I had visions of something roasted, buttery, and brown sugary. And I actually accomplished it! With a little help from my mom via the phone, I successfully roasted my first acorn squash.

Chopped.

Mom told me these guys are pretty tricky to cut. She actually texted me later to ask me if I still had all my fingers – she wasn’t kidding. Thankfully, I made it through this first crucial step. Then, I scooped out the seeds. I’m soaking them overnight, and tomorrow I’ll roast them. (Does anyone else love pumpkin seeds?)

De-seeded.

I popped both halves into the microwave for about eight minutes. Once they were fork-tender, I spread a little butter and brown sugar on them, and put them in the oven under the broiler for about five minutes. The end result was gorgeous.

Voila!

I saved the other half. I’m going to try to incorporate it into tomorrow’s breakfast somehow. Stay tuned…

Along with the acorn squash, I had a go-to: a sauteed mushroom and spinach wrap with hummus. This was one of my favorite meals this summer, when I had to pack a lot of lunches.

You can't tell, but I promise there's spinach and mushroom hidden in that wrap.

I also had a bowl of Progresso Lentil soup. One of my goals this autumn is to learn to make soups. Last year I made a mushroom-barley soup that was really simple and great on a cold day. I’d love to learn to make an easy lentil soup, if anyone has a good recipe.

After din, I did some studying. For British History and Culture, I had to read Bernard Shaw’s “Mrs. Warren’s Profession.”

Glee was enjoyed with a side of Mango Sorbet.

Yummm.

I’ll be honest – this stuff took some getting used to. The texture and color are just a little off, but if you let it sit for a while, it’s worth the wait.

The pretty dish makes it even better.

Anne, you asked if my dishes were vegan. Some may be, though not intentionally. For about six months, I was a vegetarian. Only recently I decided to eat fish again, and that soon led to re-incorporating all meat. Most of this takes place at my parents’ home, though. At school, I still haven’t purchased any meat or fish from the grocery store. But I’m hoping to do so soon!

I’ve got to get back to “Mrs. Warren’s Profession.” As soon as I finish, I’m going to dig into my new magazines. Also, I finally get to start “Mrs. Dalloway” for my Virginia Woolf class soon. I can’t wait – I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for a long time.

Goodnight!

Mary

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gimme more

  1. magpie64 says:

    Gorgeous acorn squash! Did you soak the seeds in salt water? I like to roast at 350 degrees until golden brown, stirring a couple of times. You are an inspiration!

  2. UJ says:

    I should read these in order but the dilemma of cutting the squash is minimized using the steamer and the skin can be eaten very nutritious and it even tastes good cold. Just make chunks and put on the lid. It’s ready in 5 minutes. Pumpkin seeds are one of mankind’s scourges. I don’t even recommend them for birds and I often think of Larry Kramer in a bad mood chastising us humble folk for serial bad behavior. He probably ate them for roughage.

Leave a Reply

