Afternoon Delight

I’m in bliss. Where to start? It’s Saturday, also known as the best day of the week (if done right – there’ll be little to no homework done today). It’s gorgeous. I was just outside for the past four hours, walking from house to house for pregames to the big game. I went to my good friend from high school’s house, and saw a lot of girls I used to play sports with. Actually, that’s one of the things I like best about football Saturdays – unexpectedly running into people I know and love but don’t get to see too often. I’m also full, thanks to Sarah’s dad. He bought the house a big box of Zingerman’s goodies. Treats abound!

 

I ❤ Zingerman's!

 

Inside: Pecan blondies, ginger scones, brownies, palmier’s, big o’s, mandel bread (like biscotti, I dipped mine in coffee), and more. The best thing I ate? The pecan blondies or the oatmeal cookies. In absolute bliss.

But because sweets alone do not make a balanced breakfast, I also had an omelette and half a pickle (also from Zingerman’s).

 

Spinach and feta omelette + pickle

 

Right after I took this picture I doused the omelette in ketchup. To which one of my roommates raised her eyebrow and said: “Jesus. That’s a lot of ketchup.” Go big or go home!

My posting this week has been sporadic at best, and I’m sorry about that. I’ve been so busy that I often didn’t take photos of my meals, but here are some of the highlights (in no particular order):

 

Salad + Squash + Soup + Sides

 

 

Yum yums.

 

 

Soup + Baby Carrots + Basha Hommus

 

I think this was Wednesday’s lunch. I was famished and wanted a ton of food as quickly as possible. So I made the salad (the basic – tomatoes, feta, cukes, signature dressing, all over mixed greens), warmed up the squash (and spooned some yogurt and Kashi GoLean on top), and heated up the soup. The result was a delicious and bountiful lunch.

Later that day, I was hungry, but wanted something sweet for dinner. In comes the couscous:

 

Couscous with apples, goat cheese, and walnuts

 

This was so easy, and so delicious. I made the whole wheat couscous while sauteeing a Honeycrisp apple in butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Once the apple starting getting soft, I threw in some walnuts. I mixed the apples and the couscous, drizzled on some maple syrup, and topped it with a little goat cheese. It was so good! I can’t wait to make it again – maybe for dinner tonight?

For the past few Thursdays, my friend Jed and I have gone to dinner and then did some studying together. Last Thursday was no exception. We ended up going to the People’s Food Co-op, where I made my own salad. The picture is terribly blurry, but the salad itself was great.

 

Garbage salad.

 

In the mix: spinach, purple onions, tomatoes, organic garbanzos, balsamic lentils, hummus, quinoa tabbouli, sesame crackers, roasted beets, and more. The roasted beets were the best part. I want to make some of my own, but I’m not sure how to go about it. Any suggestions?

On the side, I got a cup of Potato-Leek soup. I topped it with kale, which ended up saving it. The soup itself was pretty bland.

 

Potato-Leek soup hiding under kale.

 

Ehh. I wouldn’t get the soup again. But the salad and the company were lovely!

Hi Jed!
Jed and me.

Yesterday I had a bit of a melancholy morning. I don’t know why – it was Friday and I was done with classes. But lunch turned things around. It’s that easy to make me happy – just give a good sandwich and I’m set.

 

Wrap with hummus, spinach, cucumber, carrots, feta.

 

I just thought it looked really pretty.

 

Wrap + Apple + Dark Chocolate + Almonds

 

So much crunch. It turned my mood right around.

And that’s everything. Right now I’m watching a movie with my roomie Lauren. A monster nap is definitely in my future. Enjoy your Saturdays!

Love,

Mary

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

